Is this one real?

Post a photo or link to an eBay listing and let the community weigh in on whether it's a true vintage tee.

Is this one real?

Postby mz5 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:27 pm

Image

Image

Thanks all
mz5
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby jimmyj on Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:39 pm

? there is nothing there? upload images directly to the site - scroll below the text field and click on "upload attachment"
jimmyj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby mz5 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:57 pm

can you see the images now?
mz5
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby jimmyj on Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:35 pm

The screen stars tag does look a little off - way more space around the edges than normal.

Image

Also look at the fibers in this close-up here - what does a close up of yours look like? looks like it might be pure plastic.

Maybe a non typical Screen Stars tag, misprint - or a Japan/Thai repro? They seem to dig the Americana/military prints.

Where did you get it and what is making you question it?
jimmyj
Site Admin
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:26 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby mz5 on Thu Jul 07, 2011 3:20 pm

i has been collecting T for sometime with very little knowledge. after i found your site, i started to wonder if all my T are real and this one was too good for the price,so i ask. Yes, i am in Thailand. so emmmm it must be a re-pro. :cry:

i might keep you busy for this weekend posting all my T and asking if they are real. :)

Thanks for you answer.
mz5
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby Johnny65 on Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:29 am

There are definitely some differences between mz5's tag and the one James listed.

1.) "CARE ON REVERSE SIDE" placement is completely different

2.) Registered Trademark symbol ® on mz5's and Unregistered Trademark symbol TM on the real tag.

3.) mz5's tag looks to be nylon instead of cotton like the real one.

4.) Overall print quality and placement on mz5's tag is poor and looks like a copy.

5.) T-shirt of mz5's looks brand new. Not NOS, but brand new.

I'm gonna' say it's a copy.

http://worn75.blogspot.com/
Johnny65
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Is this one real?

Postby mz5 on Fri Jul 08, 2011 5:02 am

thanks Johnny. this forum really got me into serious t collector now. :D
mz5
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby mz5 on Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:42 am

this T must be re-pro too right? it looks the same as above T.
Image

and what about this Jerzees T?

Image

Image

Thanks :mrgreen:
mz5
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Re: Is this one real?

Postby CRAZYBUBBA on Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:57 am

The Jerzees one is real. I've seen #1 in a distributor's warehouse. He was making Budweiser, 3D emblem, military and Iron Maiden prints. There's no $ in family re-union prints.
CRAZYBUBBA
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:29 am
Location: Central America/Toronto/New York

Re: Is this one real?

Postby mz5 on Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:16 am

thanks Crazybubba.

and what's about this holister? it said "made in korea".

Image

Image
mz5
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:12 pm

Next

Return to Real or Repro?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron